A very satisfying read and very hard to put down! I first came across this authors work last year with 'Where The Wild Cherries Grow' and was instantly in love with her style of writing. Laura Madeleine writes a piece for us upon the release of her new book The Secrets Between Us. I felt deeply for Myriam’s plight, her fear and feeling of being trapped. A gripping mystery with a heart-breaking revelation, The Secrets Between Us is a sublimely satisfying story of lost love, betrayal The author did a great job with all the characters and they were all brought to life through this listen. Free shipping and pickup in store on eligible orders. The Secrets Between Us is another sumptuous and mouth-watering offering from culinary fiction genius Laura Madeleine. This was an audible book and my first with this author. ‘Sublimely satisfying’ Veronica Henry, author of The Forever House High in the mountains in the South of France, eighteen-year-old Ceci Corvin is trying hard to carry on as normal. The author created the fictional town of Saint-Antoine to represent one of the small mountain towns of the area which, for a while, were overseen by the Italian army. About half way through, I started guessing the twist which would take place but it was nevertheless very satisfying to see how it would take place. Approved third parties also use these tools in connection with our display of ads. Nothing like the cover and the title seem to lead to. © 1996-2021, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. There are no discussion topics on this book yet. She now writes fiction, as well as recipes, and was formerly the resident cake … Free delivery on online orders of $59.99 or more anywhere in Australia Then bang there was that pivotal moment, that point where all my opinions changed and this book turned from a nice enough read to a completely, unputdownable book that I tore through the pages to discover the ending. Author ☰ Menu. Amazon Price New from Used from Kindle Edition "Please retry" £4.99 — — Paperback "Please retry" £7.32 . A great read, lovely writing, full of emotion & unpredictable twists all leading to a very satisfying finale. High in the mountains in the South of France, eighteen-year-old Ceci Corvin is trying hard to carry on as normal. 2 people found this helpful. Mystic and the Secret of Happiness: The power of loving yourself... All The Stars We Follow: A Novel (Our Second Chances Book 1). Armed with nothing more than a sheaf of papers, she travels from England to Paris in pursuit of the truth. Previous page of related Sponsored Products, Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 January 2018. High in the mountains in the south of France, eighteen-year-old Ceci Corvin is trying hard to carry on as normal. About Laura. She is the bestselling author of The Confectioner's Tale, Where the Wild Cherries Grow, The Secrets Between Us and An Echo of Scandal, which have been translated into over a dozen languages. The actual events in France in 1943 were so vivid and that was the only interesting part of the book. At first a simple love story set in the village of Saint Antoine in the Alpes Maritime which becomes much more as the tale unfolds. Well that was unexpected! So you can therefore imagine my excitement when I was offered a copy of her latest book and invited onto the blog tour, as I think this is her best book yet. Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in, Choose delivery method and buy Kindle Books. As the book progresses, and Annie travels to find her grandmother, the two stories merge into one in which Celeste is remembering the past to tell it to her granddaughter. A gripping mystery with a heart-breaking revelation. £7.99. Please try again. Buy the Paperback Book The Secrets Between Us by Laura Madeleine at Indigo.ca, Canada's largest bookstore. Let us know what’s wrong with this preview of, Published Shop for The Secrets Between Us from WHSmith. Lost in grief, she is suddenly alone at the heart of a depleted family. I first came across this authors work last year with 'Where The Wild Cherries Grow' and was instantly in love with her style of writing. But in 1943, there is no such thing as normal - especially not for a young woman in love with the wrong person. A gripping mystery with a heart-breaking revelation, The Secrets Between Us is a sublimely satisfying story of lost love, betrayal and the dangers of war. Scandal, it would seem, can be more dangerous than war... Fifty years later, Annie is looking for her long-lost grandmother. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House and Dinah Jeffries' Before the Rains. Read "The Secrets Between Us" by Laura Madeleine available from Rakuten Kobo. I sped through the book wanting to know the truth of it and I admit, I did guess the outcome, though there was still another twist to come. Local Nav Open Menu Local Nav Close Menu Publisher : Transworld Books. The Secret by the Lake: A captivating read from the Richard & Judy bestseller Louise Douglas. Initially while reading this book I had similar feelings as to when I was reading Where the Wild Cherries grow. The Secrets Between Us is wonderfully written and Laura's descriptions of the small town is so rich and vibrant, you can almost taste the salty bread and smell the flowers in the meadow. Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read. The author did a great job with all the characters and they were all brought to life through this listen. The Secrets Between Us Laura Madeleine. Start by marking “The Secrets Between Us” as Want to Read: Error rating book. The Secrets Between Us is a fictional work inspired by true events that took place in the Alpes-Maritimes during the summer of 1943. In my reviews of Madeleine’s previous books, The Confectioner’s Tale and Where The Wild Cherries Grow , I spoke about how she was a very sensual writer and I’m pleased to say she continues … A truly gripping read - could hardly put it down! I read Where the Wild Cherries Grow last year and still have The Confectioner's Tale on my TBR but with this new read Laura has certainly confirmed what a brilliant author she is. You submitted the following rating and review. Between the two periods, I probably enjoyed the story of 1943 better (indeed, it could … Just a moment while we sign you in to your Goodreads account. Blog Tour: The Secrets Between Us - Review and Recipe by Laura Madeleine Today I am delighted to host the Blog Tour for Laura Madeleine's new book, The Secrets Between Us . Another section of this moving and well written story, involves an English woman taking her grandmother back to her roots. In Where the Wild Cherries Grow by Laura Madeleine, it is 1919, and the end of the war has not brought peace for Emeline Vane. £0.99. Laura has an incredible ability in describing emotions which make the heart beat. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 March 2018. A gripping mystery with a heart-breaking revelation, The Secrets Between Us is a sublimely satisfying story of lost love, betrayal and the dangers of war. All of the voices were great so no complaints there. I did guess how Ceci’s story would end but it still brought a tear to my eye! Wonderful Evocation of Village life in the Alpes Maratine, Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 February 2018. Publisher: Black Swan (Transworld/Penguin Random House) A gripping mystery with a heart-breaking revelation, The Secrets Between Us is a sublimely satisfying story of lost love, betrayal and the dangers of war. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton’s The Lake House and Dinah Jeffries’ Before the Rains. The Secrets Between Us is another sumptuous and mouth-watering offering from culinary fiction genius Laura Madeleine. First off, it must be said that this book cover is absolutely glorious and captures the setting of the novel to perfection. These promotions will be applied to this item: Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. I would’ve given it 5 stars if it hadn’t ended so abruptly as I was left wanting more. The Secrets Between Us Laura Madeleine . But as she traces her grandmother’s story, Annie uncovers something she wasn’t expecting, something that changes everything she knew about her family – and everything she thought she knew about herself…Perfect for fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House and Dinah Jeffries' Before the Rains. Scandal, it would seem, can be more dangerous than war. The Secrets Between Us is Laura Madeleine’s third book and it is another spellbinding journey from an author who is fast becoming one of my favourite writers. Paperback. After a childhood spent acting professionally and training at a theatre school, Laura Madeleine changed her mind, and went to study English Literature at Newnham College, Cambridge. The Secrets Between Us is the third book from Laura Madeleine and my god what a read this turned out to be. The Secrets Between Us by Laura Madeleine. I loved Ceci and reading of her times in the bakery wit. The Secrets Between Us is another sumptuous and mouth-watering offering from culinary fiction genius Laura Madeleine. 4.5 out of 5 stars 626. This item has a maximum order quantity limit. The Secrets Between Us is another sumptuous and mouth-watering offering from culinary fiction genius Laura Madeleine. This takes place just the beginning of the war when this part of France was invaded by the Italian forces, prior to the German invasion. But in 1943. An Echo of Scandal; The Secrets Between Us; Where the Wild Cherries Grow; The Confectioner’s Tale; Signed Copies; Blog; Other Writing; Cover Reveal: The Secrets Between Us. Thanks Random House UK, Transworld Publishers and netgalley for this ARC. Makes me want to visit a bakery and go to Nice again. I loved Ceci and reading of her times in the bakery with her beloved father. The Secrets Between Us by Laura Madeleine Thanks for Sharing! as I feel like it added a lot to the story. The Secrets Between Us is another sumptuous and mouth-watering offering from culinary fiction genius Laura Madeleine. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House and Dinah Jeffries' Before the Rains. Sorry, there was a problem saving your cookie preferences. The Secrets Between Us weaves together two stories 50 years apart. A gripping mystery with a heart-breaking revelation, The Secrets Between Us is a sublimely satisfying story of lost love, betrayal and the dangers of war.